Opening hours

The Royal Stables

The Royal Stables is open in conjunction with guided tours.
In July and August, the courtyard is open with a café and souvenir shop.

Guided tours:

January 12–June 16
Saturday–Sunday, in English at 13.00. In Swedish at 14.00

July 1–August 18
Sunday–Friday, in Swedish at 12.00 and 14.00. In English at 13.00 and 15.00

August 19–31
Sunday–Friday, in Swedish at 12.00. In English at 14.00 and 15.00

September 7–December 15
Saturday–Sunday English at 13.00. In Swedish at 14.00

The Royal Stables Day September 1 at 11.00–17.00

August 2019

  • 2019-08-01 Thursday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-02 Friday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-04 Sunday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-05 Monday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-06 Tuesday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-07 Wednesday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-08 Thursday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-09 Friday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-11 Sunday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-12 Monday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-13 Tuesday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-14 Wednesday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-15 Thursday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-16 Friday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-18 Sunday 12.00-16.00
  • 2019-08-19 Monday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-20 Tuesday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-21 Wednesday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-22 Thursday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-23 Friday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-25 Sunday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-26 Monday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-27 Tuesday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-28 Wednesday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-29 Thursday 11.30-16.30
  • 2019-08-30 Friday 11.30-16.30

September 2019

  • 2019-09-01 Sunday 11.00-17.00
  • 2019-09-07 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-09-08 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-09-14 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-09-15 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-09-21 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-09-22 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-09-28 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-09-29 Sunday 13.00-15.00

October 2019

  • 2019-10-05 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-10-06 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-10-12 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-10-13 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-10-19 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-10-20 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-10-26 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-10-27 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-10-28 Monday 14.00-16.00
  • 2019-10-29 Tuesday 14.00-16.00
  • 2019-10-30 Wednesday 14.00-16.00
  • 2019-10-31 Thursday 14.00-16.00

November 2019

  • 2019-11-01 Halloween 14.00-16.00
  • 2019-11-02 All Saint's day 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-11-03 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-11-09 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-11-10 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-11-16 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-11-17 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-11-23 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-11-24 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-11-28 Thursday 15.00-20.00
  • 2019-11-29 Friday 11.00-18.00
  • 2019-11-30 Saturday 10.00-18.00

December 2019

  • 2019-12-01 Sunday 10.00-17.00
  • 2019-12-07 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-12-08 Sunday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-12-14 Saturday 13.00-15.00
  • 2019-12-15 Sunday 13.00-15.00

Visit us

Guided tours Open today 11.30-16.30

Take a tour through the Royal Stables, with its harness room, cars and carriage houses. During the summer season, the inner courtyard, it...

Read more
Group Visits Open today 11.30-16.30

We recommend that large groups pre-book a guided tour. For groups of at least 20 people, you can order coffee, sandwiches and/or pastries.

Read more

The Royal Stables are located at Väpnargatan 1 in central Stockholm.

Read more

Events

Welcome to Royal Stables Day. There will be exhibitions, historic cars, horses, carriage parades and refreshments. Take the opportunity t...

Buy ticket

A Christmas market is traditionally held at the Royal Stables on the first weekend in Advent. For four days, exhibitors from across Swede...

Read more

Discover more at The Royal Stables

Horses Open today 11.30-16.30

The Royal Stables have around twenty horses. The horses are trained to lead cortèges and carriages on occasions such as state visits and ...

Read more
Cars Open today 11.30-16.30

Among the oldest cars in the Royal Stables is a Daimler DE27: Limousine from 1950. It can seat up to eight people and is still in use . ...

Read more
Buildings Open today 11.30-16.30

The current Royal Stables buildings were completed in 1894. The architect was the palace official Ernst Jacobsson, assisted by Fritz Ecke...

Read more
Carriages Open today 11.30-16.30

See the Royal Stables coach sheds, which are home to around forty carriages and sleighs for various occasions. Most of them date back to ...

Read more
Summer café Open today 11.30-16.30

Discover the Royal Stables' summer café, serving home-baked treats in a unique setting in the heart of Stockholm.

Read more
History Open today 11.30-16.30

The history of the Royal Stables dates back many hundreds of years, to 1535 when King Gustav Vasa had stables built for the royal horses....

Read more

Articles and movies

Discover an oasis in the heart of the city and visit the Royal Stables' inner courtyard with its café, shop and a couple of horses. The p...

Read more

During the summer, all ten royal palaces and their museums, parks, chapels, shops and cafés will be open.

Read more

What was life like at the Royal Stables during the times of King Karl XIV Johan and King Oskar I? An exhibition in the coach shed describ...

Read more

Customer service

Opening hours: Open today 11.30-16.30

FAQ

  • Can I pre-book a ticket for the general palace tours?

    Tickets can be purchased on the same day at any of our ticket offices; no advance purchase available.

  • Are there any storage lockers at the royal palaces?

    The Royal Palace of Stockholm: There are a few storage lockers available at Tickets & Information and in the Tre Kronor Museum. However, we would recommend not bringing any large bags with you. The other royal palaces and visitor attractions: No storage lockers available.

  • Can I take my bag into the royal palaces?

    Small bags are permitted at our visitor attractions. Rucksacks should be carried in your hand or on your front. Do not leave any bags unattended. Bags and cases with wheels are not permitted.

  • Can I take a pushchair into the royal palaces?

    Pushchairs are not permitted indoors.

  • Are there any pushchair parkings at the royal palaces?

    The Royal Palace of Stockholm: At the entrance to the Reception Rooms, in the Outer Courtyard there is a limited amount of space for pushchairs. Under cover, but unmonitored and no locking facility.

    Riddarholm Church: At the entrance to Riddarholm Church. Under cover, but unmonitored and no locking facility.

    Drottningholm Palace: Outside the entrance. Under cover, but unmonitored and no locking facility.

    Other visitor attractions: No pushchair parking.

More FAQ